Adamawa State Current Affairs 2021/2022 Updated | Check Out

Adamawa State Current Affairs 2021: | Check Out all necessary information you need to know about Adamawa State. This current Affairs information will be of immense help to all those living in the State of Adamawa.

As the matter of fact, this updated information is to help, develop and give you insight into the matters in Adamawa State. This information is for all Nigerians especially those in Adamawa State.

Yola is the capital and largest city of Adamawa, a state in northeastern Nigeria. When Taraba State was separated from Gongola State in 1991, the former was renamed Adamawa State, with four administrative divisions: Adamawa, Michika, Ganye, Mubi, and Numan. It is one of the thirty-six states that make up Nigeria’s Federal Republic.

Brief History About Adamawa State

Adamawa was a subordinate kingdom of the Sultanate of Sokoto, which also comprised most of northern Cameroon, until becoming a state in Nigeria. The rulers are known as emirs (“lamido” in the local language, Fulfulde).

Modibo Adama, a regional leader of the Fulani Jihad organized by Usman dan Fodio of Sokoto in 1804 and the kingdom’s founder, was given the name “Adamawa.” Modibo Adama was born in the Gurin area (now a small village) and won a green flag for leading the jihad in his homeland in 1806. Adama conquered many lands and tribes in the years that followed. He relocated his capital to Ribadu in 1838, and then to Joboliwo in 1839. He founded Yola in 1841, where he died in 1848. The rulers remained as emirs after the European invasion (first by Germany, then by Britain), and the line of succession has continued to this day.

The Geography of Adamawa State/Adamawa State Current Affairs

Adamawa is one of Nigeria’s largest states, with a total area of 36,917 square kilometers. It is bordered on the northwest by Borno, on the west by Gombe, and on the southwest by Taraba. Its eastern border with Cameroon forms the country’s eastern border.

The deep river valleys of Benue, Gongola, and Yedsarem cut through the mountainous terrain. The Mount Cameroon valleys, Mandara Mountains, and Adamawa Plateau are all part of the landscape.

All Local Government Areas In Adamawa State

Adamawa State consists of twenty-one Local Government Areas (LGAs):

  • Demsa
  • Fufore
  • Ganye
  • Girei
  • Gombi
  • Guyuk
  • Hong
  • Jada
  • Lamurde
  • Madagali
  • Maiha
  • Mayo-Belwa
  • Michika
  • Mubi North
  • Mubi South
  • Numan
  • Shelleng
  • Song
  • Toungo
  • Yola North (State capital)
  • Yola South

Past and Present governors of Adamawa State/Adamawa State Current Affairs

Name Title Took Office/Left Office Party
Abubakar Saleh Michika Governor 2 January 1992 – 17 November 1993 NRC
Gregory Agboneni Administrator 9 December 1993 – 14 September 1994 (Military)
Com. Yohanna Madaki Administrator 14 September -1994 22 August 1996 (Military)
Joe Kalu-Igboama Administrator 22 August 1996 – August 1998 (Military)
Ahmadu Hussaini Administrator August 1998 – May 1999 (Military)
Boni Haruna Governor 29 May 1999 29 May 2007 PDP
Murtala Nyako Governor 29 May 2007 26 February 2008 PDP
James Shaibu Barka Governor (acting) 26 February 2008 29 April 2008
Murtala Nyako Governor 29 Apr 2008 15 Jul 2014 PDP/APC
Ahmadu Umaru Fintiri Governor (acting) 15 Jul 2014 1 Oct 2014 PDP
Bala James Ngilari Governor 1 Oct 2014 29 May 2015 PDP
Bindo Jibrilla Governor 29 May 2015 29 May 2019 APC
Ahmadu Umaru Fintiri Governor 29 May 2019 Incumbent PDP

The Economy of Adamawa State/Adamawa State Current Affairs

Farming is the people’s primary occupation, as shown by their two distinct vegetational regions, the Sub-Sudan and Northern Guinea Savannah zones. Cotton and groundnuts are their cash crops, while maize, yam, cassava, guinea corn, millet, and rice are their food crops.

The Fulanis raise sheep, while the village communities along the rivers’ banks engage in fishing. The state has a road system that connects all parts of the country.

Many communities in the state can be traced back to the colonial period, when Germans controlled a swath of land known as the Northern and Southern Kameruns, stretching from Dikwa in the north to Victoria (Limbe) on the Atlantic coast in the nineteenth century. With the signing of the Treaty of Versailles at the end of World War I, these were handed over to the British as United Nations Trust Territories. The Northern Kameruns joined Nigeria to create the then-Sardauna Province, and the Southern Kameruns formed a Confederation with French-speaking Cameroon after a series of referendums.

Past and Present Emirs of Adamawa State/Adamawa State Current Affairs

Emirs of Adamawa have included:

  • Modibbo Adama ben Hassan, 1809–1848
  • Lawalu ben Adama, 1848–1872 (son of the previous)
  • Sanda ben Adama, 1872–1890 (brother of the previous)
  • Zubayru ben Adama, 1890–1901 (brother of the previous)
  • Bobbo Ahmadu ben Adama, 1901–1909 (brother of the previous)
  • Iya ben Sanda, 1909–1910 (son of Sanda ben Adama)
  • Muhammadu Abba, 1910–1924 (son of Bobbo Ahmadu ben Adama)
  • Muhammadu Bello ben Ahmadu ben Hamidu ben Adamu, 1924–1928
  • Mustafa ben Muhammadu Abba, 1928–1946 (son of Muhammadu Abba)
  • Ahmadu ben Muhammadu Bello, 1946–1953
  • Aliyu Mustafa, 1953–2010
  • Muhammadu Barkindo Aliyu Musdafa, 2011–present

Tertiary institutions in Adamawa state

A list of tertiary institutions in Adamawa state include:

  • American University of Nigeria, Yola
  • Modibbo Adama University of Technology Yola
  • Adamawa State University
  • Adamawa State Polytechnic, Yola
  • Adamawa State College of Nursing and Midwifery.

Sites of interest

  • Mubi
  • Nuhu Auwalu Wakili’s Palace
  • Sukur World Heritage Site
  • Lamido’s Palace
  • American University of Nigeria
  • Kamale Mountain Peak in Michika
  • Three Sisters Rock in Song
  • Kwandree Cold water spot in Michika
  • The confluence of Rivers Benue and Gongola in Numan Uba under Mubi (Valanyi)
  • Local Government Areas

Languages in Adamawa State

Languages of Adamawa State listed by LGA:

LGA Languages
Demsa fulfulde;  Bali; Bata; Bille; Mbula-Bwazza; Waka
Fufore ; fulfulde
Ganye  Fulfulde, Gaa; Koma; Mumuye; Peere; Chamba Daka
Girei  fulfulde
Gombi  fulfulde ; Bura-Pabir; Ga’anda; Hwana; Lala-Roba; Mboi; Ngwaba; Nya Huba
Guduniya  Ngwaba
Guyuk  Bacama; Bena; Dera; Ga’anda; Longuda; Voro
Hong  Boga; Nggwahyi; Ngwaba; Nya Huba; Maffa, Kamwe
Jada  fulfulde
Lamurde  Fulfulde, Kwa; Kyak; Bacama; Dadiya; Dikaka; Dza; Jiba; Tso
Madagali  fulfulde; Margi
Maiha  Fulfulde
Mayo Belwa  Fulfulde,
Michika  Kamwe, Gvoko; Hide; Hya; Kamwe; Lamang; Marghi Central; Maffa; Marghi South; Putai; Vemgo-Mabas; Waja
Mubi  Fulfulde, Kamwe Daba; Ga’anda; Maffa; Gude; Kirya-Konzel; Marghi Central; Marghi South; Nya Huba
Mubi North  Fulfulde ; Kamwe Hya; Zizilivakan
Mubi South  Fali
Numan  Bacama; Bali; Dza; Kpasham; Kwa; Mbula-Bwazza; Mumuye; Waka; Kaan
Shelleng  Kaan; Hwana; Mbula-Bwazza
Song  Bata; Bena; Ga’anda; Gudu; Hwana; Kaan; Kofa; Mboi; Mbula-Bwazza; Voro
Toungo  Jibu
Yola , Fulfulde
Yola North  fulfulde
Yola South  Fulfulde, Bacama,


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *